The College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences is located off Kapenguria Road, 14 km. to the Northwest of Nairobi. As the University has evolved, so too has the college. The college has a fully stocked library, a Field station at Kibwezi and clinics and laboratories to supplement the education provided in lectures. The College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences has its origin with the establishment of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, one of the oldest degree-granting faculties. This faculty was transferred from Makerere University College to the Royal College Nairobi in 1962. Today, students are prepared for various fields in the Veterinary Sciences at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels, with undergraduate beginning studies in the College of Biological and Physical Sciences. Courses are offered by the following departments:

      1.Department of Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology (VAP)

      2. Department of Animal Production (AP)

      3. Department of Clinical Studies (CSD)

     4. Department of Public Health, Pharmacology and Toxicology (PHPT)

     5.Department of Veterinary Pathology, Microbiology and Parasitology (VPMP)

     6. Department of Biochemistry (as a service department)

There are several programmes that are specific to each department and  can be viewed under each departmental website.

The Department of Clinical Studies teaches the entire clinical curriculum of Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine, which is covered in third, fourth and fifth years of the Veterinary undergraduate degree course. The Department therefore has an enormous mandate in veterinary undergraduate teaching. The department also manages the Veterinary Teaching and Referral Hospital of the University of Nairobi.

The Department of Clinical Studies coordinates and teaches the Bachelor of Science in Wildlife Management and Conservation programme, which is a four-year programme in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and serviced by all the departments.