Prof. Stephen Kiama appointed to chair Commonwealth Universities Regional Committee

Prof. Stephen Kiama

The University of Nairobi Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Stephen Kiama has been appointed to serve as the Chairperson of the newly formed East and Southern Africa (ESA) Regional Committee of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU). The term is for two years.

The Committee is part the 500 ACU membership whose headquarters is in United Kingdom. Kiama will be the first chair of the newly created Committee which comprise of  universities in East and Southern Africa that are in a programme of ACU aimed at strengthening regional and international collaboration across the Commonwealth, but with links to the Caribbean and Americas, Europe, West Africa, South Asia and East Asia.

The role of the Chair  would be to ensure the delivery of the committee’s strategy and wherever relevant to work alongside other  fellow regional committee chairs to develop projects and opportunities for member universities.

The universities  represented by their Vice Chancellors are the University of Nairobi (Kenya) represented by Professor Stephen Kiama Gitahi, the Technical University of Kenya (Kenya) represented by Professor Francis Aduol, University of Zambia, represented by Prof. Luke Mumba, the University of Malawi (Malawi) represented by Prof. John D Kalenga Saka, the University of Rwanda (Rwanda) represented by Prof. Phillip Cotton and the University of Dar-Es-Salaam (Tanzania) represented by Prof. William Anangisye.

Others include, the University of Pretoria (South Africa) represented by Prof. Tawana Kupe, the University of Witwatersrand (South Africa) represented by Prof. Adam Habib; and, Makerere University (Uganda) represented by Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe.

Source :Association of Commonwealth Universities.